Gravity, Light, and the Earth's Orbit: A Newbie's Questions

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of radiation pressure and its potential impact on the Earth's orbit. It is noted that while photons do have momentum and contribute to the radiation pressure, it is a very small amount compared to the gravitational pull of the Sun. The conversation also briefly touches on the potential impact of radiation pressure from other sources in the universe.
pete5383
Hey everyone. I'm kind of new to the whole physics world, but I've got a question I've been wondering about.

So the Sun attracts the Earth because of gravity (or bends space time that the Earth is traveling through), and my question is this: Since photons have momentum, and momentum must be conserved when the photons strike the Earth, how much collectively are the photons pushing the Earth away from the Sun? Obviously it must be very little, but does it cause even a noticable error when calculating the orbit of the earth? That is, if the sun did not emit light, would it appear as though it's gravitational pull has gotten stronger than when it -was- emitting light? Maybe a dumb question, but something I was pondering...thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
In principle you're right. Don't even need to talk about photons for that: classically, already, electromagnetic waves carry momentum as well as energy (btw, the photon momentum comes from that correspondence).
The transferred momentum on an object due to absorption or reflection of light is called radiation pressure.

However, as you suggest, it must be very small as compared to the gravitational pull. Didn't do the calculation, though.

Agreed, someone should do the calculation just for fun

Haha...yeah, sooooooomeone should do it...hm...so basically, the photons are pushing us away, but we just leave it out of mind because it's a pretty small amount?

After a long enough time, would we move slightly away, or isn't it even that much of an effect?