QFT Beginner Seeks Help: Photon Self Energy Feynman Diagram

In summary, the conversation discusses trying to plot a Feynman diagram for the photon self-energy in the context of quantum field theory. The individual is using the Mandl-Shaw book as a reference and is attempting to convert the expression to momentum space. However, they have encountered a discrepancy in the results and are unsure if they are missing a fundamental concept or if it is just an algebraic error. They come to the conclusion that the issue may be due to not properly accounting for a shift in momentum.
PineApple2
I am a beginner to QFT and I try to plot the Feynman diagram for the photon self-energy. Following Mandl-Shaw book (page 109 Eq. 7.22)
[itex]
\int d^4x_1 d^4x_2 (-1)\mathrm{Tr}(iS_F(x_2-x_1)\gamma A^-(x_1) iS_F(x_1-x_2) \gamma A^+(x_2))
[/itex]
but when I try to convert it to momentum space I get

[itex]
\int \mathrm{Tr}(d^4x_1 d^4x_2 \gamma\epsilon(k')e^{-ik'x_1}\frac{1}{(2\pi)^4}\int d^4p S_F(p)e^{-ip(x_2-x_1)}\gamma\epsilon(k)e^{-ikx_2}\frac{1}{(2\pi)^4}\int d^4p' S_F(p')e^{-ip'(x_1-x_2)})
[/itex]
this expression is technical but I basically assumed that the incoming and outgoing photons have momenta k and k' (which results in k=k' of course) and the electron and positron have pomenta p and p'. From this I got F(p)S_F(p-k). According to references this result is wrong and the correct result is S_F(p+k)S_F(p). Am I missing something fundamental or is it just algebra?

Thank you.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
If I understand that correctly, you integrate over p anyway. Could both versions lead to the same integrals? It is just a shift p->p+k.

I think you are right. I somehow did not pay attention to this... :-)
Thank you.

Last edited:

1. What is QFT and how does it relate to photon self energy Feynman diagrams?