Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Photons hitting a mirror

1. Apr 2, 2012 #1
    I'm starting out with QM (I have a maths degree) and have come up with the following problem to help me understand QM more.

Say we have a mirror lying flat on the ground. We shine a laser from the East on the mirror at say X degrees, to be reflected to the West at X degrees. At the quantum level all we have is photons being absorbed by the reflective coating atoms of the mirror (eg silver), then being re-emitted shortly later.

I'm trying to understand is why the photons are reflected at the same angle they are absorbed. Once the photon is absorbed I cant see how the silver atom "decides" to emit it at the same angle. Is it to do with QED or conservation of momentum? Is there a good book to get me started with this?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 2, 2012 #2
    I think that QM is ''wave-particle''(''dual'') physics,then it automatically leads to reflection law of light by ''wave characteristic''.

4. Apr 2, 2012 #3

Cthugha

Science Advisor

This is quite a non-trivial question. Before tackling the quantum problem, it is best to solve the classical problem first. So I assume you are either familiar with the Huygens–Fresnel principle or should read up on it. Constructing reflection using the Huygens-Fresnel principle is not too complicated and it is very instructive to do it once.