Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Photoresistor problem

1. Aug 13, 2008 #1
    I need a circuit diagram for running a motor using a battery pack (3 volts) that uses a photo-resistor for a switch. Really sorry for bothering you with such simple question but i am new to this thing.
    Thank-you. The attached was my previous circuit it did not work.

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 13, 2008 #2

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The photoresistor is just that a resistor. It will limit the current through the motor. You can drive the motor with a transistor that is switched on by the photoresistor however.
  4. Aug 14, 2008 #3
    but the photoresistor has too much resistance even wen exposed to sunlight. The max the resistance has dropped to is abou a 100 ohm
  5. Aug 14, 2008 #4
    but the photoresistor has too much resistance even wen exposed to sunlight. The minimum the resistance has dropped to is about a 100 ohm
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 14, 2008
  6. Aug 14, 2008 #5

Staff: Mentor

So what do you think would happen if you connected the photoresistor between the + supply and the base of an NPN transistor, where the NPN's emitter is grounded, and its collector is connected to the - side of the motor.....?
  7. Jan 7, 2009 #6
    Photoresistors are not a good source for Vin on a NPN, you need a trimpot to do a voltage divider, so you can control the brightness of the led on the Collector side
  8. Jan 7, 2009 #7
    will that work properly without a second resistor between base and ground?
  9. Jan 7, 2009 #8

Staff: Mentor

Hi Proton,

This whole thread is from last summer, and wasn't very well developed. A photoresistor driving the base would be fine, probably, but without more design details it's hard to say for sure.