1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics and frustration

1. Sep 20, 2008 #1
    I am a chemistry student at university and have finally hit physics. I have been able to handle the calclulus, chemistry, biology and other courses; however with physics I have had to put much more effort and time in order to master and understand the concepts.

Is this normal? I feel consistently inadequate, I have never had to study so hard for such rudimentary skills. It's not even the calculus based physics either, its a prereq for calc based physics.

I guess my question how natural is physics to you? Of course this is a physics forum so its probably very biased but I would still like to know.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 20, 2008 #2
    I feel your pain. The same is true for me.

4. Sep 20, 2008 #3

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

gmunoz18 wrote:
    Yes. It is normal. You at least have the advantage that with Calculus and Chemistry courses, you have done some analytical thinking. You also are finding some overlap of topics.

Just why are you in a prerequisite physics course instead of the actual Calculus-based physics course? Are you in Biological Science program, or are you in a Chemistry program?

5. Sep 20, 2008 #4
    Chemistry; but the counselor recommended some physics before the calc based because I never took physics in highschool.

6. Sep 20, 2008 #5

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member