1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics and psychology

1. Feb 15, 2008 #1
    I'm starting a B Science this year. I'm an older student. I want to do a double major in physics and psychology and possibly a bit of computing if I can fit it in.

I will do honors (4th year), probably in physics. Always I will bend towards physics.

I don't think physics and psychology are mutually exclusive. I know there are "smarter" double majors to take.

But if I do this, where will I end up? What special niche will I be good for?

Teaching perhaps?

Any comments welcome.

(What do the "real" physicists out there think about psychologists?)
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 15, 2008 #2
    I knew a guy when I was a freshman in high school, who did the same thing you did. He ended up going to graduate school doing Artificial Intelligence.
  4. Feb 15, 2008 #3
    If you do psychology, you're doing it because you like psychology. Nobody gets a job with a bachelor's in psychology (ask my sister-in-law).

What special niche will you be good for? I don't know. You could do anything you want. But it's like doing English and Math. You might do one or the other, but you won't do both, since their intersection is the empty set. Physics and psychology might be a little bit closer, but you'll never get away from the fact that physics is hard, rigorous science, and psychology is anything but.

I did French and Math, so this is coming from somebody who knows what a worthless degree looks like. I don't regret doing it, but I certainly will let you know that one does it for the love of the game, and nothing more.
  5. Feb 15, 2008 #4
    Psychology IS (or can be) rigorous science.