Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics behind a cannon

1. Jun 19, 2005 #1
    Ok now im new to the whole physics thing so thats y im here.

Ok well I know that there is a fomula that the US army has developed to figure out the elevation in degrees that a cannon should be pointed to land a round on a specefic target, But im having a problem finding this formula. I dont know If this has been asked before and i have done searches.

Im almost shure that the formula inculded the varbiles:
    Distance from target to cannon
    muzzle velocity
    projectile weight
    wind direction
    elevation of cannon
    elevation of target

there may be others but thats all i can think of right now.

Basicly once you figure out the varibles it will produce a number that is between 0deg and 90deg.

Any help is thanked

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 19, 2005 #2
    Whenever I imagine a cannonballs trajectory I imagine a sin(x) graph, though one must take into account air resistance and other things. If you are looking for a mathematical equation I would look into calculus.
  4. Jun 19, 2005 #3
    Trajectories are parabolic, not sin waves.
  5. Jun 19, 2005 #4
    Gaaa big words, im sorry but im already a lil lost
    and yes i think i forgot wind resistance
  6. Jun 19, 2005 #5
    Very true, I should have specified that the sin wave I imagine is restricted to [itex]0°\leq x \leq180°[/itex], which is, in essence, parabolic.
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2005
  7. Jun 19, 2005 #6
    Those are the ones you're looking for. If you have a basic mechanics book or even access to google you can find models describing freefall with air resistance.

edit: missed the first one
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2005
  8. Jun 20, 2005 #7

Gold Member

What? you need distance to target to figure out where to fire