1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics BIO

1. Aug 18, 2008 #1
    HI...all of you...

I want to know what kind of field is biophysics....i mean, what's there in it???

also, i am an undergraduate physics student...so do i have any career, or scope, in the field??and of what sort...and is it okay for me leave mainstream physics and enter the field?

(by mainstream i only meant that i don't have any biophysics course in my undergraduate course curriculum...)
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 18, 2008 #2

Our curriculum has two undergrad biophysics courses, and I do believe that it is part of the mainstream. In fact, I would wager that it is a bigger field than most 'normal' physics fields (if only because the word bio tends to attract grant money).

But I don't know much about it, so I won't comment as to what it's really about.
  4. Aug 18, 2008 #3

Science Advisor
    2015 Award

I'm in a graduate biophysics program and biophysics is a very, very broad field that different people will define differently. In general, there are two broad (non exclusive) definitions of biophysics:

1) Using and developing tools from physics to study biological systems. Things in this category include medical imaging, structural biology, and single molecule biophysics.

2) Approaching problems in biology in a quantitative, theoretical manner. Fields under this category include systems biology, bioinformatics, and computational neurobiology.