Physics Education Research

In summary, according to the fourth year grade student, there are few opportunities for people who want to go into physics education research after getting a PhD. A few programs like UC Boulders might be available, but they are likely not funded very well. There may be some opportunities for volunteer work, but the student is unsure about what they could do.
Cluelessluke
Hello all!

I'm a fourth year grade student in physics (specifically theoretical cosmology).

Over the years I've become more and more interested in education. I even applied and was accepted as a STEM instructor for a local high school...which probably takes up more of my time than my adviser would like ;)

I'm playing around with the idea of maybe getting into physics education research but I admittedly know little about this field.

Do postdoc positions...or grants...or really anything exist for people who get a PhD and want to go into this field?

Physics news on Phys.org
*grad

After doing some research, I'm learning about PER. It's hard for me to find postdoc options for such groups. Do these not exist?

I imagine that you are likely going to need a phd in physics education research if you want to do research in physics education similar to needing a phd in physics to do physics research.

You could apply to a program like UC Boulders.

In my experience, the people who get into physics education research are often lecturers who's primary duties are teaching and don't have other ongoing research projects. A number of community college instructors come to mind. That's NOT to say that they do it because they can't do something else. I think it's more that physics education questions naturally arise more frequently for those in teaching positions.