1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics for Me?

1. Jul 6, 2007 #1
    Hello all,

I recently graduated from high school, and accepted my offer to a pretty good university in the faculty of science. I am going to be majoring in physics and/or chemistry. I just want to know if it is right for me. More specifically, what do people do out there with a physics degree besides work towards their PhD and become a professor/researcher?

I am too young now to decide what to do with my life, that's why I am studying physics, it is what I like best. With a degree in physics, are the options open for engineering? It seems like a very broad field which might suit my interests, however it is too early now for me to commit to an "engineering" degree.

Such things as renewable energy, alternative fuels, and nanotechnologies interest me. I could have applied to the faculty of engineering for an "electrical engineering" degree, or "nanotechnology" but once again, I feel that I am too young to pick one thing for the rest of my life.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 6, 2007 #2
    eh, i don't think anyone here can answer that question

No worries though, you'll get a better taste for it once you're in there taking courses, talk to different people...

At most schools, you can switch over to engineering from physics since there's a lot of overlap between the two. Some people even do both! Make sure you check though. My school, for instance, is very departmentalized, and transfers into engineering are really tough, usually requiring a repeat of a few terms.
  4. Jul 6, 2007 #3