1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics major guidance

1. Jul 20, 2014 #1
    Hello, My name is Leon Pierre, and I am a physics major . I want to double major both in physics and math. My main goal is to be a mathematical physicists , who works in the fields dealing with electromagnetism and quantum mechanics. I am trying to figure out which topics of mathematics am I to study. Anyone can help and guide me ? I really appreciate it Thank you :)

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 20, 2014 #2

bhobba

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hi Leon

This really belongs in the academic guidance section and the mods probably will move it there.

I actually did a degree in applied math, not physics, and self taught myself physics, so I feel from experience I can point you in the direction of the math I studied that was useful in that endeavour.

First, if you want to study math and call yourself a mathematician of some sort, eg a mathematical physicist etc, then you must do your epsilonics which is colloquial for mathematical analysis ie the rigorous study of calculus. No need to go really deep into it but you need to know things like the pinching theorem, what being dense means etc. That's so you can understand proofs like the following:
    https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=758125

Aside from that I would say:
    Linear Algebra
    Multivariable Calculus
    Group Theory
    Complex Analysis
    Advanced Ordinary Differential Equations
    Partial Differential Equations
    Hilbert Spaces
    Probability and Statistics (the deep theory isn't required - ok if you do it - but an understanding of the basic axioms and statistical inference - they would be courses like Probability and Statistics for Scientists and Engineers)