1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics MS vs. MA?

1. Nov 20, 2013 #1
    Is there any difference between an MS and MA in Physics? I want to apply to Boston University for graduate school, but they only offer an MA in physics. Also note that in either case I am going on to earn my PhD, if that's relevant.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 20, 2013 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

If you get a PhD, nobody cares if you even have a masters.

4. Nov 20, 2013 #3

Pythagorean

Gold Member

The thing I might be worried about is that there's less chance of turning a master's thesis into a publishable paper if it's an MA. If you're eventually getting a PhD, it doesn't hurt to come out of it with a couple publications.

I have no experience with MA's though, so I could be wrong.

5. Nov 21, 2013 #4

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Then why did you feel compelled to reply? Seriously - I don't know what it is about this section that makes people give uninformed advice. We have even had high school students try to give PhD students advice.

Boston University does not have a masters thesis. They don't even have a masters program. They permit someone partway through the PhD program to pick up a masters. So what you wrote doesn't really apply.

Last edited: Nov 21, 2013
  6. Nov 21, 2013 #5

Pythagorean

Gold Member

Because many MA's don't require a thesis so there would be nothing to publish. I wasn't givng advice. I was raising a point for discussion. I explicitly declared my lack of credibility.

More importantly, the point can be discussed without getting meta about it...

7. Nov 21, 2013 #6

jtbell

Staff: Mentor