1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics or biology major?

1. Sep 29, 2007 #1
    Please Help!

Hello there,

I need some advice:
    I'm studying biology and I took the two required physics courses but I didn't do well in them, Eventhough I love physics. It's all because I had a lot of stuff going on in the past year (when I took my two physics courses), so it was a bad situation all mixed up.
    My question is: As I said I love physics a lot, but I fear I would never be able to pursue anything in it any more because of those two courses I took, which were easy., and which I didn't do well in. Is there a chance that I can take physics courses on the graduate level, while I do a Biology Masters? I really love physics and I think it's not fair to me not being able to do physics stuff because of what happened. What do you think about that? What should I do? Thanks
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 29, 2007 #2
    Why don't you try taking another undergrad physics course and see how you do?
    I doubt most departments would let you into a graduate course with only two intro undergrad courses under your belt. And even if they did, unless you have very, very strong math skills, you'd probably be hopelessly lost.

Did you take algebra-based introductory physics? If so, I would start by going back and talking the calculus-based intro courses.

How's your math? Have you done the standard calculus + differential equations coursework?
  4. Sep 29, 2007 #3