Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics or engineering, which one is better

1. Apr 12, 2004 #1
    As "Phobos" who is PF Mentor has advised me to post my message here, it is as below.

I'm a design engineer. My qualification is MSc Physics. I want to complete higher studies to understand the designing and working of switch mode power supplies. Should I do PhD in Physics or choose electrical engineering( Power electronics) for that. Which one is better. Please refer to "Career in Engineering" at Electrical Engineering forum as well before answering my question.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 23, 2004 #2
    Here I found a partial answer to my question...

CAREERS IN SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING
    A STUDENT PLANNING GUIDE TO
    GRAD SCHOOL AND BEYOND

Internet Access: This report is available on the National Academy of Sciences’
    Internet host. It may be accessed via World Wide Web at http://
    www.nas.edu, via Gopher at gopher.nas.edu, or via FTP at ftp.nas.edu.
    Careers in Science and Engineering serves as a companion to the Worldwide
    Web site, A Career Planning Center for Beginning Scientists and Engineers
    (available at http:/ /www2.nas.edu/cpc), that provides a source of online information
    and guidance as well as a listing of employment opportunities.

4. Nov 24, 2004 #3
    I majored in Physics and had to work in Engineering.

5. Nov 25, 2004 #4

PerennialII

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I would go as the one above ... if you major in physics you can always work in engineering (especially as you likely get the hang of it from your current engineering background), but typically not the other way around.

6. Nov 26, 2004 #5