Study Math for Physics Career: QFT in College?

In summary, if you want to pursue a career in quantum field theory, it is important to have a strong background in mathematics. Many students who want to study theoretical physics begin by studying mathematics in college and then go on to graduate school in physics. It is also recommended to pick up additional math courses along the way or even consider a double major. In the field of physics, math is essential and cannot be avoided, especially in areas such as quantum physics. It is helpful to learn math by applying it to real-world problems and using resources such as Sagemath. The traditional approach of learning math on paper is becoming obsolete in professional physics careers.
viniciuslbo
I'm studying the first year in physics university and I want to follow the career in QFT and this area requires a lot of math. In my university a lot of students who want to study theoretical physics are studying mathematics, and then to graduate school in physics. It will be a good choice? Begin studying mathematics in college.

Physics news on Phys.org
I would definitely recommend studying physics if you want to go to grad school for physics. And pick up any extra math along the way, or do a double major.