Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics or something else?

1. Sep 29, 2010 #1
    Hi physics forum,

I am new to this forum, and I'm very glad it exists.

I have been having a dilemma about my plans for my future for several weeks now, it just seems that I have idea what I am doing with myself...

I am a sophomore in college currently majoring in physics, the only problem I have is what I want/can do with an undergraduate degree in physics (BS). To give you all a little background information about myself, I have always loved learning about the way things work and building things. At the same time, I have noticed that I do not think I have the passion to do research in theoretical physics but I would much rather do something finite. What I really want to do is something in engineering or finances/economics.

My first basic question is: is it possible for me to get into a graduate engineering program with an undergraduate degree in physics?

I appreciate all positive feedback!

thanks -moogull

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 29, 2010 #2

fss

Depends on the program and (to some degree) what electives you take. If you want to get into an engineering graduate program you should take electives that relate to engineering.

4. Sep 29, 2010 #3
    Well I like things relating to computers, like semiconductor technology, and I really like machinery (airplanes specifically) so I think electrical and aeronautical apply to me the most?

Also, what sort of electives do you consider relevant? I know I am going to take some computer science, as I am very interested in it and I know it is very relevant to lots of different areas/industries, especially those with engineering.

5. Sep 29, 2010 #4
    "What I really want to do is something in engineering or finances/economics."

Then why are you majoring in physics?

6. Sep 29, 2010 #5