1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Question (Moving Incline)

1. Dec 22, 2015 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I have an incline with a degree of Alpha and it is with friction that is equal to (Us = tan theta)
    It is accelerating to the right. Prove that this equation if it is true then the block will slide.
    a > g tan(Theta - Alpha)

3. The attempt at a solution
    fJX6mjR.png
    That was my thought of forces.So I figured out that if I want them to stick together then it should have the same acceleration and orientation.
    So the Net of forces should be ma and has the same orientation as (a)
    I have encountered a problem before with 2 stacked objects and found that the static force keeps the blocks together by giving it the same acceleration ( Correct me if I am wrong, I kinda get confused on how that happens) and also I cant find any force that could be acting that way so it produces the same acceleration and orientation. Anyway as a result, I came up with these equations.

Friction - mg sin alpha = ma cos alpha (1)
    mg cos alpha - N = ma sin alpha (2)
    Friction = Us N
    Then by putting 2 in 1
    Us (mg cos alpha - ma sin alpha) - mg sin alpha = ma cos alpha
    Us as mentioned is equal to tan theta
    Tan theta mg cos alpha - tan theta ma sin alpha - mg sin alpha = ma cos alpha
    Divide all of it by cos alpha and m
    Tan theta g - tan theta a tan alpha - g tan alpha = a
    Do some math and you will come up with this
    g(tan theta - g tan alpha) = a ( 1 + tan theta tan alpha)
    a = g (tan theta - g tan alpha) / ( 1 + tan theta tan alpha)
    a = g tan( theta - alpha)
    If I want it to slide then a bit more acceleration will make it slide then a > g tan(tehta - alpha)