1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Question.

1. Oct 14, 2003 #1
    Hey guys, I'm a beginner physics student and I don't really know how to answer this question:

I have a spring, ruler,3 known masses, and 1 unknown mass.How would I find the unknown mass using these materials? Is it possible to solve using Hooke's Law? It would be very helpful if you guys can provide some equations or include any diagrams. Also how would I derive the needed equations from a graph? Thanks Alot!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 14, 2003 #2
    ... and, pencils down.

well, let's see what we can do here.
    first of all, remember hooke's law for a vertical opposition system (a spring with a mass hanging from it):
    F=mg=-ky
    so, from this we know that the spring has a linear stretching dependent upon the mass placed on it. hang the spring from a hook, and then put the ruler next to it. now, put the first known mass on it. measure the displacement now (y).from this, you have one value of k, by doing -mg/y=k. (g=9.81m/sec^2, and the - denotes the downwards direction.) now, do the other two masses the same way, and average the three values. k=(k1+k2+k3)/3=((m1g/y1)+(m2g/y2)+(m3g/y3))/3
    where k is the average k.
    now we get to the unknown mass.
    measure the mass by putting it on the spring the same way as the first three. now measure its displacement (y), then you get (ky)/g=m.
    voila! you have the mass!

remember: masses are in kilograms (kg), forces in newtons (N), and displacements in meters (m). hope this helps!

4. Oct 14, 2003 #3

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor