Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics questions

1. Jul 3, 2008 #1
    I have read on sciam.com that physicsforums.com has real scientists online, and I wanted to read their responses. I was reading a fiction book called Blink by Ted Dekker, and there was this extreme genius, with an Intelligence Quotient of 190, and he was in a quantum physics (or so I think) class at Berkeley. He attempted to correct one of his professors, by using Feynman equations or something like that, and the book mentioned Lagrangian something; I don't remember, but the specific thing they were talking about was the future, and probability, and God. I'm interested in that, so that's why I was asking. I am a Freshman in high school.

What is Riemannian Geometry? And what portion of it is devoted to relativity, when Einstein needed a different type of geometry that he needed to get used to, other than Euclidean, for it is incompatible.

What is the Grand Unified Theory?

What is string theory, and what are superstrings?

What is M-theory?

I have read that there are 11 dimensions; is this true?

What are the hidden dimensions?

Has anyone here heard of The Elegant Universe, or perhaps, Brian Greene?

I have heard that Michio Kaku is one of the foremost physicists in the world. Is this true?

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 3, 2008
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 3, 2008 #2
    Re: The Elegant Universe

There are many better references than this.

4. Jul 3, 2008 #3

Well obviously, if I'm telling you this not a good reference, that implies I have read it and read others as well. I actually happen to have seen also other media-related material produced by Greene, and I simply do not think he provides a fair introduction to it. IMHO.

5. Jul 3, 2008 #4

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2015 Award

Michio Kaku