Physics teacher is bad, can I teach myself?

In summary, Peter is struggling with physics and is looking for ways to improve his understanding. He has had difficulty with the material in the past, and feels that he would be better off if he had someone to talk to about the material. He has tried talking to his classmates, but they are not as knowledgeable as he is. He has also tried the resources available to him, such as the bookstore and the internet, but has not found what he is looking for. He is considering asking a professor for help, but is also considering other options.
SparkimusPrime
I need help. I'm studying physics, electricity and magnetism. I'm completely lost. My teacher does nothing for me, I have learned absolutely nothing from her since the course began. What I have learned, I have learned from doing homework problems and inferring from those who help me here. The book does nothing for me, the lectures are useless, I've taken to copying down the finished equations, because the explanations do that little for me. There are help sessions, I can only make it on Friday, group study does wonders for me, often the others students are as lost as I. My teachers help is worse than doing it myself.

I can't do this anymore. We've started the chapter on electrical potential and I haven't the faintest inkling of how to begin the homework problems, nor can I do them without significant effort on the part of the helpful people here. I want to be able to do something so I'm not completely lost on the test. Is there a better way?

I learn most easily, from people. I have had immense success in my college career up to this point, talking with teachers, doing the homework, getting help from students. I seem to have a problem with physics in general, I had a similar problem with 4a (basic physics), I don't grasp something fundamental about the thought patterns of a successful physics problem solver.