Quantum Physics for Math Undergraduates: Advice Needed

In summary: I am intending to eventually go into physics so learning more about QM is important to me.In summary, a third year undergraduate mathematics undergraduate is intending to learn more about quantum physics and recommends Mechanics by Keith R. Symon and Electricity and Magnetism by Brian P. Clegg as starting points.
JonathanTheDestroyer
Hello. I am a third year Mathematics undergraduate. I am intending to get a good undergraduate understanding of Quantum Physics (to eventually pursue a Physics masters) and was looking at what recommendations anybody could make.

I have a good mathematical background in linear algebra, groups, fields ect from my Maths degree so that shouldn't be a problem. I am currently reading Mechanics by Keith R. Symon to get a good understanding of classic mechanics so I was looking to expand upon this and would like any advisory textbooks to get started.

This is my first post here so apologies if this question has been asked before.

Thanks in advance.

Likes Bibleman
Physics news on Phys.org
You should learn mechanics and get to understand the Hamiltonian principle. You should also be acquainted with electricity and magnetism. After that you should be good to go for QM.

Likes Bibleman
micromass said:
You should learn mechanics and get to understand the Hamiltonian principle. You should also be acquainted with electricity and magnetism. After that you should be good to go for QM.

I should have pointed out I have done a first year undergraduate course in Physics where we dealt with electricity and magnetism, mechanics, a bit of basic QM ect.. I have also done A level Physics (British education system). Any specific books you could recommend?

Look at this thread. There are some excellent recommendations. My favorite is McIntyre as I mentioned here. You can ignore the linear algebra recommendations.

Likes Bibleman
JonathanTheDestroyer said: