1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics to Nuclear Engineering

1. May 17, 2006 #1
    As I learn more and more about health physics I lean more and more towards wanting to get a graduate degree (M.Sc.) in nuclear engineering, with a possible double in physics (OSU offers this). How difficult is it for a person with a double BS in math and physics to "catch up" as it were and pursue a nuclear engineering graduate degree?
    Now how difficult is it for a 44 year old to do this who needs to pursue this part itme (due to work constraints)?
  2. jcsd
  3. May 17, 2006 #2
    Which OSU?

I graduated a few years ago from OSU-west (Oregon State) in Physics with a minor in math. Pretty standard fare physics curriculum with some emphasis on QM and Particle Physics. Now I'm working in a government lab effectively as a nuclear engineer.

I'd say that it shouldn't be too hard to pursue a Nuc. Eng. degree with a physics background. You might need to brush up on first order differential rate equations, but most of it would be nomenclature with the various reactions that can take place.

As for how easy it is to do and balance work, that probably depends on the school. I'm wrestling with that in trying to get a graduate degree in Physics out here.

Hope this helps.
  4. May 17, 2006 #3
    One of my physics professors had an undergrad in physics, then went onto a masters in nuclear engineering. THEN, went back for a ph.d in astro/plasma physics. I think your plan is definitely possible.
  5. May 17, 2006 #4

Staff: Mentor