1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics vs. Engineering

1. Nov 17, 2008 #1
    I tried this before with no avail, so this time I'm going to be a little more expressive about my situation. Currently my major is chemical engineering, it's a fun major in its own right, and has many possibilities when you obtain a degree. I attend the University of Akron, it's a rather highly acclaimed research facility, with polymer engineering ranking top in the nation. While I find this major to be interesting, challenging, and rewarding I have began question whether it is the correct major of my choice. Of course, with a degree in Chem.E. the reward is great and plentiful.

Except recently, since being introduced into college physics, I have garnered a new respect for it. I have always been a fanboy when it comes to quantum and theoretical physics, and just the overall degree of how it can affect our thoughts of the universe and so on.

If I chose to switch now, I would more than likely tag on another year to my college schedule, since the maths, chemistry, and preliminary classes tend to clump up between engineering and physics.

I would really like to know the opinions of people and their views on either of the majors so I'm able to come to a clearer objective of what path I should choose to go down.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 18, 2008 #2
    Can't you do both?

4. Nov 18, 2008 #3