1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Vs. Mathematical Physics

1. Jan 8, 2013 #1
    Hey guys, i'm a student from Ontario applying for university. I have come to a fork in the road and i need some guidance as to which course would more appropriately suit me. I am 23 years old, and i recently went back to an adult high school and took accelerated courses. I had not previously taken these courses when i was actually in high school, i was simply a troublemaker when i was younger.. ^.^ I started with a math grade 12 college course, and realized i had more potential so i continued forward, and took GR11 and GR12 of the following courses. Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Functions, and advanced functions, and calculus. My mark in physics was only an 84, however my mathematical skill level during this point was very weak, i took gr11 functions and advanced functions and calculus after Physics. So therefore in my mind, my Physics grade was much lower due to this weakness in maths. My grade 12 marks are as follows.

BIO: 86
    CHEM: 88
    Physics:84
    Calculus:94
    Advanced Functions: 91
    ENGLISH: 84
    ( I'm revealing my marks only to show that i believe i have the competency to do the physics or mathematical physics program, i am not proud that i am so late with doing these high school courses, but i am proud that i did do them in the end.)

Leaving my overall at 88%

Here is a program description for Mathematical Physics and the initial courses

http://math.uwaterloo.ca/math/future-undergraduates/programs/mathematical-physics