Picking AS/A2

FeDeX_LaTeX
Gold Member
Hello;

I am in my final year of GCSE and sooner or later I will have to pick what I want to do for AS and A2 (A-Level).

For A2, I am fairly certain I will be picking Further Maths, Physics and Chemistry.

For AS however, I am a little stuck.

I will definitely be picking Maths/Further Maths, Chemistry and Physics. However, I don't know whether or not I should pick Biology or Spanish for my last AS slot.

Which is considered to be more appealing by universities such as Cambridge and Oxford? I will end up achieving an A in both subjects but I don't know which to choose. The biology teachers at my school are terrible (as are the spanish teachers), but I can self-teach.

I plan on doing a degree or having a career in a maths/physics-related background.

I do not plan on going into any biology-related field at present, though I might change my mind in future (but for the past few years I have been strongly orientated toward maths/physics).

What should I pick? Biology or Spanish?

Thanks.

Answers and Replies

Hello;

I am in my final year of GCSE and sooner or later I will have to pick what I want to do for AS and A2 (A-Level).

For A2, I am fairly certain I will be picking Further Maths, Physics and Chemistry.

For AS however, I am a little stuck.

I will definitely be picking Maths/Further Maths, Chemistry and Physics. However, I don't know whether or not I should pick Biology or Spanish for my last AS slot.

Which is considered to be more appealing by universities such as Cambridge and Oxford? I will end up achieving an A in both subjects but I don't know which to choose. The biology teachers at my school are terrible (as are the spanish teachers), but I can self-teach.

I plan on doing a degree or having a career in a maths/physics-related background.