Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Piezoelectricity in formulas

1. Nov 13, 2015 #1
    Hi all ,

I am approaching now the piezoelectricity but I am studying economics so i have no knowledge to understand deeply some aspects of it. Anyway i am really interested in understanding it for myself.

I understood all mechanism behind it but some things are still not clear. Let's start!

1. If we use a piezoelectric surface to generate energy with a X force (N), am I getting the voltage output once or i'll get voltage output each time i apply the vertical force X?

2. In formulas terms, I used this formula to calculate the voltage output of a crystal piezoelectric surface pushed with a vertical force is :

V = [(dmnt) / (εε0A)] ⋅ Fx

dmn = piezoelectric crystal coefficient | pico-C/N
    t = crystal thickness
    ε = crystal dielectric coefficient
    ε0 = 8.854 x 10-12
    A = area of surface
    Can anyone confirm me this formula? I am not sure i can rely on what i get using this formula. I can say that my force is for sure vertical (approximately).

Thank you for your help.

Best,

Richard

PS. Please, excuse me if i post it in the wrong section but i couldn't classify it in other sections.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 13, 2015 #2
    In mechanics, energy is force times distance. In electricity it is voltage times current.

So each time you push the crystal, you will get the voltage. But since you can't push the crystal very far it will have very little current associated with it. There's no free energy here.

But the crystals are good as transducers, converting electricity into motion or motion into electricity as signals.

4. Nov 13, 2015 #3

meBigGuy

Gold Member

You get the voltage while the force is applied, that is, while the crystal is stressed.

Seems to agree with the formula here