Planet closest to us

1. OK I'm fairly new to these topics but eager to learn but as I'm sure most of you know the closest know habitable planet is gliese 581g. They say at 11 miles a sec it will take 79 years but I'm wondering does that take into account the universes expansion and would it be 79 earth years and if so wouldn't time be going slower for someone traveling at that speed. I realizes its not a very technical question but its just a curious thought I had. Thanks

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 23, 2012
  2. jcsd
  3. Ryan_m_b

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the forum. Currently we do not know of any other habitable planet other than Earth; whilst it is located within the habitable zone where water could form we do not even know if it is a solid planet (it is also several times the mass of Earth). On top of that for something to be habitable we require a biosphere, specifically one we have evolved to cope with.

The distance to gliese 581g is ~20 light years which is 5.87 trillion miles! At a mere 11 miles per second it would take roughly 17,000 years.

The expansion of the universe is minute and at this distance would not make a difference.

4. Haha thanks that answered that as you can tell I've just started some reading and learning but I love this stuff

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 23, 2012
  5. Ryan_m_b

No problem :smile:

6. Chronos

Chronos 10,060
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member