1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Planet-Star Ratio Method

1. Mar 9, 2013 #1
    I am currently studying the star Qatar-1 and its orbiting planet Qatar-1b on the Agent Exoplanet website: http://portal.lcogt.net/agentexoplanet/ [Broken] where they are studying exoplanets and their transit times across their stars.

After going through a 130-image process of using calibrators to track the movement of the planet in its transit across its star, a "lightcurve" is produced (showing the dip in brightness when the transit occurred). From this, the website produces information from your lightcurve. My table of results can be viewed in the attachment.

What I am trying to ultimately do is to find out how they figured out the planet to star radius ratio to be 0.15. In text on their website, they say that they gained this information from my "lightcurve".

The lightcurve can be found on this webpage specifically: http://portal.lcogt.net/agentexoplanet/qatar1b/lightcurve/ [Broken] , where they also show their formula on how they figure out the transit time. This formula is as follows:

[tex]t_t = \frac{P R*}{π a}[/tex]

Where:
    [itex]t_t[/itex] is the transit time
    R* is the star's radius
    P is the orbital period
    a is the orbital radius

I have tried emailing the website but am yet to receive a reply and am worried that I never will. Googling has given very few results and I my only theory is that it might have something to do with the drop in brightness during transit - but I am skeptical. If anybody has any idea how a star-planet ratio is determined, it would be most helpful. Thank you in advance!

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 9, 2013 #2

Bandersnatch

Science Advisor

4. Mar 9, 2013 #3

Bandersnatch