• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

Please advice me

• Thread starter rukshan
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

Dear Friends,

I'm an average international student and applied for middle ranking universities only.

GPA major = 3.70
GPA overall = 3.52
GRE physics = 730 (64%)

I got admission from Uni. of Mississippi and Wayne State university. My research interest is undecided but I like condensed matter. Having milder climate conditions is a gift (but not very important). The rank (recognition) is also important. I don't know much about both. So I would be thankful if one (domestic) can recommend me by considering above points.

Thanks.

Answers and Replies

Wayne State University has an excellent condensed matter physics program.
http://www.physics.wayne.edu//research/cmp.html [Broken]

I'm assuming (from your name) that you are from Asia. Most of the students in the physics and chemistry departments are from India, Sri Lanka, or China. So if indeed you are from one of those countries, that might help becoming acclimated more easily.

Michigan's climate is bearable: harsh winters, mild springs, warm summers, and pleasant autumns.

Last edited by a moderator:
Wayne State University has an excellent condensed matter physics program.
http://www.physics.wayne.edu//research/cmp.html [Broken]

I'm assuming (from your name) that you are from Asia. Most of the students in the physics and chemistry departments are from India, Sri Lanka, or China. So if indeed you are from one of those countries, that might help becoming acclimated more easily.

Michigan's climate is bearable: harsh winters, mild springs, warm summers, and pleasant autumns.
First, thank you very much for your post.