Please help to calculate pressure

• Thread starter alex-book
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Pressure
In summary, the conversation discusses an analysis on a closed system vessel that will be heated up for an experiment. The main equations used are PV=nRT and density=m/V. The volume and number of moles are constant, making the relation between pressure and temperature directly proportional. The question of using the density of argon at STP (1 atm and 25C) for a higher temperature (500C) is also addressed.
alex-book

Homework Statement

Hi I am an Engineering student and i have to do an analysis on a closed system vessel that is going to be heated up.And before i start the experiment i want to an analysis or a safety factor for this experiment.

I am going to have a closed system vessel, let's say the volume is going to be 3 m^3. and surface area of 3m^2.
Initially i am going to put an argon gas inside the closed vessel when the vessel is still at room temperature (25C) and then heat it up until it reach 500Celsius.(T=773K)

Homework Equations

Pv=nRT, and density=m/V

The Attempt at a Solution

and gas volume is always the same with the medium right? so the argon gas volume on a 3m^3 vessel will be 3m^3 as well right?

but isn't it that the volume of the gas depends on the temperature and the pressure?

or can i just calculate the mass by using the density of the argon gas at 25C and find the mass or the mass is going to be different at 500C?

Sorry about a lot of confusion in my posting, i am really confused and do need help. Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
alex-book said:
I am going to have a closed system vessel, let's say the volume is going to be 3 m^3. and surface area of 3m^2.
Actually a 3 m^3 volume must have a surface area of at least 10 m^2, but that isn't really important for this problem.