Why Is Understanding the Process Behind Vector Addition Crucial?

• Thread starter jimmyly
  • Start date
In summary: In summary: My teacher tells us to use cos and sin to find the x and y components of a resultant vector, then use the Pythagorean theorem to find the resultant. However, this process is difficult for me because I struggle to understand why we are doing each step. I would prefer if he explained the process on the board so I could have a better understanding.
jimmyly
Hey all, i am just starting out physics so this is very basic stuff. i am having troubles understanding adding vectors. i can do simple ones like a car travels 10km N and 24 km E, find the the total displacement. i understand that. But once i have to add more than 2 vectors together i get very frustrated and i am at the point where i am wanting to punch walls and scream. This is MAINLY because of my teacher. He tells us "okay to find the x component you use Cos and to find the y component use sine. then you use the Pythagorean theorem to with the x component and y component to find the resultant" blah blah blah. i have 100% in precalculus 12 right now so math is not the problem. i know how to do every step. i get the right answer in the end. BUT

the problem:
i don't give two sh*ts about getting questions right. i am so upset because i don't understand WHY we do each step. i asked him before can you explain to me on the board each step so i can have a clear picture of it rather than you just using your excel program and telling us to use cos and sine to find the answer and actually GO INTO the problem and teach me how and why we do each step. and he says well with this many vectors it will take awhile to draw out each vector and do each one invdividually.