Electronics Engineering or should I study Mathematics instead?

In summary, Diana thinks that it is a hard choice but if she were to choose between continuing in Electrical and Electronics Engineering or studying Mathematics, she would choose to continue in Electrical and Electronics Engineering.
Dianaelq
Hello, my name is Diana and I'm studying Electrical and Electronics Engineering. I really love and enjoy Physics so much, and I was planning to study Physics after graduating from Electrical and Electronics Engineering. This is my first semester by the way. The reason I didn't apply for Physics is because I want to study Physics in the US and I wan't to enter a really great university, because I really want to be a Physicist and I want to be able to work as a researcher. Anyhow... I felt like studying Electrical and Electronics Engineering is a waste of time because I'll be taking all these courses again when I study Physics.
So, I was thinking that I should probably leave Electrical and Electronics Engineering and study Mathematics instead. I am really not that good at math... I know this sounds weird... I understand Physics but I have trouble understanding Mathematics... and I feel like in order to be a great Physicist I should be good in Mathematics...

So is this the right thing to do? Should I stay in Electrical and Electronics Engineering or should I study Mathematics instead?

Physics news on Phys.org
I am not sure if you will have to take all of the courses again at all. Usually you have a choice of courses to take though there are some compulsory modules. I would have thought the enforced overlap would actually be very small indeed, but check out the syllabuses and see for yourself. Electronics is a really in demand field so it is a great course to do as a fall back. Best of luck.