How will the change in wavelength affect diffraction in television signals?

• Thread starter poison_ivy
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Diffraction
In summary, diffraction affects the transmission of signals through openings such as those between buildings. When signals have a shorter wavelength (such as with future digital television signals), diffraction can cause the central diffraction maximum to occupy a larger angle.
poison_ivy
I know I'm just a newbie, but i need your help guyz :blushing:
This is a matter of life and death Thanks!

--> In conventional television, signals are broadcast from towers to
home receivers. Even when a receiver is not in direct view of a tower because of a hill or building, it can still intercept a signal if the signal diffracts enough around the obstacle, into the obstacle's “shadow region”. Current television signals have a wavelength of about 50cm, but future digital television signals that are to be transmitted from towers will have a wavelength of about 10mm. (a) Will this change in wavelength increase or decrease the diffraction of signals into the shadow regions of obstacles? Justify your answer with physics. Now, assume that a signal passes through an opening of 5.0m width between too adjacent buildings. What is the angular spread of the central diffraction maximum (ie how large of an angle does the central maximum occupy) for wavelengths of (b) 50cm, (c) 10mm?

Physics news on Phys.org
poison_ivy said:
I know I'm just a newbie, but i need your help guyz :blushing:
This is a matter of life and death Thanks!

--> In conventional television, signals are broadcast from towers to