Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Point Defect Energies

1. Mar 12, 2008 #1
    Hi everyone... I hope this is the right place to post.

Anyway, I am a first year grad student working on molecular dynamics simulations (with very little background in materials, yay) of iron. To start out, I'm just trying to replicate some materials constants with a basic lattice to make sure things are going well...

I want to calculate the energies of formation of interstitial dumbbells in various directions, <100>, <110>, <111>... I set up a perfect iron lattice, 10x10x10, and find it's total energy (-8244.8702 eV). Then, I insert an interstitial in the lattice inside one of the cubes (it's bcc iron), near where it's position would be for a <110> dumbbell, and let it run for about 100 timesteps to relax into a stable position. This is all at 0 K, by the way, and an NVE constant simulation. Now looking at the total energy, I have (-8141.51). I had thought that the magnitude of the energy should be higher with an interstitial, but it's not... so does anyone have an explanation for that, or a formula to calculate energy of intersitial formation?

I thought it would be analogous to the energy of vacancy formation equation (which I calculated fine), but doesn't seem to be... thanks
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 13, 2008 #2
    Basically, the ground-state configuration should have the lowest energy (ie. most negative). Any configuration with defects (eg. surface, interstitials, vacancy etc etc) should have higher energies (ie. not as negative as the ground state energy).

When performing MD simulations, one should always check for these things. This is because the MD potential-fitting proccess does not guarantee that all defects will have higher energy.