Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Point-Set Topology Question

1. Oct 3, 2010 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I started studying point-set topology a while ago, and I started to wonder, "Does a set have to be partially ordered in order to define a topology on it?"

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution
    I know that every set in a topology has to be open, which means that at any point you can construct an open ball such that every point in the open ball is also in that set. I don't see how this would work unless there was some sort of relation like <, >, or something similar on the set. Perhaps I'm not seeing the generalization to sets other than R^n, but I'm at a complete loss.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 3, 2010 #2

HallsofIvy

Science Advisor

A "topology" for a set, X, is any collection of subsets of X satisfying

1) Both X itself and the empty set is in the topology.

2) The union of any sub-collection of those subsets in the topology is in the topology.

3) The intersection of any finite subcollection of subsets in the topology is in the topology.

There is no need for a partial order or even "open balls" to define that.

For example, given any set, X, one possible topology is collection of all subsets of X, the "discrete" topology. Another is topology containing only the two sets {{}, X}, the "indiscrete" topology.

4. Oct 3, 2010 #3
    Then where do open sets come into play?

5. Oct 3, 2010 #4