Poisson bracket

1. How can I work out

{π,φ}

where {,} is a Poisson Bracket; π is the canonical momentum and φ is the spacial derivative of the field (ie. not including the temporal one).

Basically the question boils down to (or atleast I think it does!), working out ∂(φ) /∂φ - ie. differentiating the spacial derivative φ wrt φ.

Stupid question - but how to do this?

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. You need to work out the commutator because {A,B} goes to [A,B](2pi/ih) in quantum mechanics.

I would expect the momentum operator would commute with the spacial derivative since in position space they are one and the same.

4. yes, that's what I would also think but if we have a term in a Hamiltonian which looks like this:

[tex]\int{d^3x[\frac{1}{2}(\partial_{space}\phi)^2}][/tex]

..after taking the PB (with the canonical momentum), it goes to:

[tex]\partial_i \partial^i \phi[/tex] (which shows that they can't commute!).

5. You lost me but I am no expert. Remember you are taking the commutator of the momentum operator with the derivative operator and not the derivative of the wave function.

6. This is QFT, not QM. φ here is the operator (not a wavefuntion, like in QM), as is the canonical momentum.

I am not sure if we can carry the QM result that the commutator is i times the PB over to QFT. I was thinking more along the lines that the PB is explicitly given by {A,B}=dA/dφ(x) *dB/dπ(y) - dB/dφ(y) *dA/dπ(x).

If we work it out this way, you'll see that the PB in question reduces to ∂φ/∂φ

7. I'm sorry, are you sure this is quantum mechanics ?

8. samalkhaiat

samalkhaiat 1,131
    Science Advisor

You know the fundamental Poisson bracket;

[tex]\{\pi(\vec{y}),\phi(\vec{x}) \} = \delta^{3}(x-y)[/tex]

Well, now differentiate both sides with respect to x.

sam

9. sam:

I am trying to work out {π,(φ)2}= 2{π,φ}φ

Why would differentiating the expression you wrote, give me the PB on the RHS of the above?