I Position as a function of time in Special Relativity

• Thread starter adosar
  • Start date
Recently I have come into Special Relativity and specifically Lorentz transformation. Lets assume two frames A and B moving relative with speed ##v##. The position of a particle moving with respect to B is given by ##x′=f(t′)=3t′##. What is the function of position ##x=f(t)## of the particle for the observer A? Thanks in advance. As I said before I am new to Special Relativity.

The position of a particle moving with respect to B is given by ##x′=f(t′)=3t′##.
What units are you using? In the natural units of relativity, where ##c = 1##, the worldline ##x' = 3 t'## is impossible; it would mean that the particle would be moving at 3 times the speed of light.

What units are you using? In the natural units of relativity, where ##c = 1##, the worldline ##x' = 3 t'## is impossible; it would mean that the particle would be moving at 3 times the speed of light.
Thanks for the reply. I am using the "classical" units where c=3*10^8 m/s. I was just trying to figure out if given a position function for one (A) reference frame we can deduce another position function for another reference frame (B) moving relative with A.

I am using the "classical" units where c=3*10^8 m/s.
So that means ##x' = 3 t'## implies a speed in the primed frame of 3 m/s? Ok, good.

was just trying to figure out if given a position function for one (A) reference frame we can deduce another position function for another reference frame (B) moving relative with A.
Yes, we can, but for the simple function you give, you don't need the full Lorentz transformation to figure it out. You just need the velocity addition law: in the unprimed frame, the function will be ##x = w t## where

$$
w = \frac{v + 3}{1 + \frac{3 v}{c^2}}
$$