Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Position sensors

1. Sep 19, 2005 #1

xtr

Hi I'm new to the forum and I have a question about position sensors.

I am looking to obtain a position sensor, to be used in the construction of a musical instrument. The sensor will not only sense the presence of my hand in front of it, but will also determine the position of my hand relative to it as a function of time. This data must then be digitized to give a list of position-time values, for input into a software program. The sensor's range should around 1 to 1.5 meters.

My first guess would be an infrared sensor for this task, but I have no experience with the technology. I also have a number of other sensors available to me like Hall-effect sensors and light dependant resistors.

If anyone has any suggestions or tips on what type or model of sensor is best for this job, I would greatly appreciate the advice. If there is another forum that would be more sutiable for this question then please let me know. Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 19, 2005 #2

dlgoff

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

You might want to check out theremins. Do a google search. Here a Theremin Kit.
    Regards

4. Sep 20, 2005 #3

Integral

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

From my knowledge of position sensors I would say that your demands are extreme. You will not find a simple sensor, infrared or otherwise, which can produce the output you need. You are seeking a location in 3 dimensions, this is not the usual task for a simple sensor.

It would seem to me that what you require would be better described as a vision system... Good luck.

5. Sep 20, 2005 #4

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

The link didn't work for me, dlgoff. Is it right?