Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Possibility of time travel

1. Aug 15, 2010 #1
    Hello. I've been on this forum for a while. Though I never really bothered clicking the "register" button until now.

I am no scientist (In fact I still haven't reached university yet), so this might be a bit, well, simple-minded.

Recently I've had some thoughts and discussions with my friends about time-travel. While no one has ever drawn any conclusion, I want to bring an end to the discussion:

How is it possible? I mean, if you traveled somewhere in the past and changed it, while still being 'you', how can you really change the past? And example: If you shoot Hitler in 1937, but you still remember the events like holocaust and everything else that happened in and since the second world war (Before the time travel and after the murder), it could not possibly mean that you changed the past since there would be two different pasts for you. Will you create an instance of some sort, or how does this work?

I tried google-fu. But I ended up with many (interesting) theories - way over my head at times.

I am sorry if I'm unclear. I tried my best at 11:25 PM.

Thank you very much for reading this!

Best regards,
    Bugge

Last edited: Aug 15, 2010
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 15, 2010 #2

loseyourname

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy contains a fairly confusing but comprehensive introduction to paradoxes of closed causal loops. It's a frustrating discussion that isn't going to end and you're certainly not going to end it, but it's interesting to think about if you just want to pass time or write a science fiction story or something. Part of the entry suggests that physics other than relativity might make backwards causation impossible:

4. Aug 16, 2010 #3

Chronos

Science Advisor
    Gold Member