Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Possible Space Drive ?

1. May 31, 2005 #1
    I have an idea for a space drive system that does not use explosions or even combustion.

It doesnt require any new physics, but its something that may not be possible to build. However, it seems far more practical than any of the systems I've seen so far.

I can think of how to make it, I just dont know if there is something wrong with the physics I'm basing it on. I'm just a lowly product developer. What I need are some of you eggheads to look at it.

Please email if youre interested in discussing it, since I dont want to make the idea available to anybody. (XINKR@aol.com)

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 1, 2005 #2

Danger

Gold Member

This looks like a job for ASTRONUC!

Sorry for yelling; I got excited.

4. Jun 1, 2005 #3

FredGarvin

Science Advisor

If you can't build it, then it's not really practical, is it? I would say to not worry about being secretive. Post some of the ideas you have. You'll get a much better response.

5. Jun 1, 2005 #4

brewnog

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Yeah, everyone here is too busy with their own stuff to go around trying to steal other peoples' ideas. However, you'll find it a lot more constructive if your idea is discussed as a group.

6. Jun 1, 2005 #5
    Why not patent it first, and then discuss it? Contrary to popular belief, one can get anything past the patent office. Perpetual motion, anti-gravity, faster-than-light communication, objects that are bigger inside than they are outside? No problem. Just pay the fee.

7. Jun 1, 2005 #6

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Though if you're really serious about the security problem, email an engineering professor at the nearest university and offer him a few hundred dollars for a quick once-over of your idea. Write a little contract that says he has no rights to the information you show him.