1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Potential and potential energy

1. Jun 30, 2004 #1
    An apparently easy question that has got me baffled! The question is simply "What is the difference between the potential of a body and the potential energy of a body, and why is it sometimes more useful to consider the potential rather than the potential energy?".

I know the answers (I think! :smile: ), but I'm having great difficulty in putting them into words. I guess there would be no marks for just copying stuff out of the text book, so how do I go about explaining it?

I'm not very good at "wordy" questions (I much prefer to work with equations), so if anyone has any advice about this kind of question in general, I'd be glad of it.

Thank you.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 30, 2004 #2
    From my understanding, potential energy is the energy associated with the ability to do work.

I've never heard of a body having potential before. Mathematically speaking, whenever a force field (vector field) is conservative, there exists a scalar potential function [itex]f[/itex] such that [itex]\vec{F} = \nabla f[/itex]. I don't know if this has anything to do with the potential of a body though.
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2004
  4. Jun 30, 2004 #3

Homework Helper

I will say "voltage" instead of "potential" for clarity (voltage = potential).

Potential energy comes from the interaction between two objects (i.e. two charges).
    Voltage is bascially the potential energy stripped of one of the objects, so it's even more abstract.