1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Potential energy problem

1. Dec 23, 2015 #1
    • Member warned to use the formatting template for homework posts.
    I present the following problem to my AP and have received a variety of answers, being a new physics teacher I am not sure that my answer is correct. I would love to see the solution and justification.
    Thanks
    One attempt based on the inference that one block is gaining U (A) and the other (B) 1 is loosing it
    1/2 mv2 b - 1/2 mv2a = 4.5 J

In the figure below, the pulley is massless, and both it and the inclined plane are frictionless. The masses are released from rest with the connecting cord taut. Some time later the 2.0 kg block has a speed of 3 m/s. What was the change in potential energy of both blocks?
    upload_2015-12-23_9-47-49.png

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 23, 2015 #2
    The string restricts the blocks to move at the same speed though so wouldn't 1/2 m(vb)^2 - 1/2 m(va)^2 = 0?

4. Dec 23, 2015 #3
    The OP probably left out the subscripts in the mass terms. The two blocks have different masses.

I don't see anything wrong with the energy approach - it should give the correct answer. Is there any particular reason why you're doubtful about it?

5. Dec 23, 2015 #4
    If
    wouldn't that equate to them having the same kinetic energy? but since they are both moving at the same speed with different masses it can't equal zero?

6. Dec 23, 2015 #5
    Yes indeed I overlooked the unequal masses

7. Dec 23, 2015 #6
    One students argument in the change of U should be negative since in the end there is less potential energy...
    Another approach was to calculate the total energy 1/2 ma+mbv2 which ends up being 13.5 and since

Emech =U + K U = -13.5

Last edited: Dec 23, 2015