Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Power supply for electromagnet

1. May 24, 2012 #1
    hi
    i am wanting to make an electromagnet as a project and i have ordered 916 meters of 0.125mm ENAMELLED COPPER MAGNET WIRE.
    i am a electronics hobbyist but i have not played with bench top power supply's before and i dont know where to start what is the best/ safest or how to use them safely for powering the electromagnet.

many thanks for any help and advice anyone might offer
    Ryan

2. jcsd
  3. May 24, 2012 #2
    Re: power supply

ps i know an iron core is good but what about cast iron?

4. May 25, 2012 #3

NascentOxygen

Staff: Mentor

When your reel of enamelled wire arrives, measure off a length of, say, 5 metres and use a multimeter to measure the resistance of that length of wire. Tell us what it reads.

First, use fine sandpaper or a single-edged razor blade to carefully scrape away some of the enamel from a few centimeters at each end of your 5 meters of wire before you connect the wire to the multimeter.

If you don't have a multimeter, can you buy one?

You could experiment with a cast iron core if you have some of suitable shape. Some materials will retain more magnetism than others, and in an electromagnet, being able to completely switch off the magnetism (and have no residual magnetism) is sometimes desirable.

What is the voltage and current range of your bench DC supply? Does it have its own voltmeter and current meter?

5. May 26, 2012 #4
    You gave the diameter of the wire, you must know the gauge of the wire. Look up what is the specification.

What are you trying to do? When you wind the coil, power up with the DC supply set to 0V first and slowly increase the voltage while monitoring the current.