What Should I Study Before Tackling Spivak's Calculus?

In summary, a high school student in the UK is looking to start studying Calculus from Spivak and is wondering what topics they should cover in greater detail before doing so. The student has completed their Mathematics IGCSE and is currently working on a Further Maths IGCSE. It is suggested that the student may need another/supplemental calculus book or utilize free online sources in addition to Spivak's book, as it is more focused on analysis and rigorous proofs. It is also recommended to read threads on Spivak and other resources to strengthen understanding of mathematics.
IDValour
Hello, I am a high school student in the UK who is looking to start studying Calculus from Spivak. My question is as follows: What topics might I need to cover in greater detail before doing so? In terms of work done thus far, I have completed my Mathematics IGCSE (1 year early) and am now working through a Further Maths IGCSE, the syllabus of which can be found here: http://filestore.aqa.org.uk/subjects/AQA-8360-W-SP.PDF
I have also covered logarithms, absolute values, binomial theorem and induction as part of contests and accelerated work schemes. What else might I need before tackling this text?

Physics news on Phys.org
You might want to get another/supplemental calculus book or use free online sources like strangs or keisler while going through Spivak. Spivaks book is really an introduction to analysis, which isn't a bad thing but I can't judge from the information provided if you're at that level. Looking at the further math syllabuses you have the prerequisites to start studying calculus at the level I did, whether or not you'd struggle with the epsilon/delta formal nature of Spivak, it's hard to say. You UK kids get a better foundation in math then I did.

IDValour said: