Prerequisites for work in energetics

In summary, as a first-year physics student with an interest in the energetics industry, you should focus on relevant courses in physics and engineering, choose the degree that best aligns with your goals, and consider the potential benefits of pursuing a PhD.
MarekS
I am a 1st year physics student at the University of Edinburgh, who's also taking chemical engineering as an outside course. I am intersted in being involved in the energetics industry after gradutation.
Could someone provide insight as to (1) what type of courses should I choose in physics and engineering; (2) should I do a degree in physics or engineering (I have the option of transferring); (3) will a master's be enough and will a PhD benefit me in some way.

Obviously it tepends a lot on the particular type of energetics: something established as petroleum engineering or something alternative as renewables of something up-and-coming as thermonuclear synthesis (maybe).

I'm open to all of these.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org