Test Prime Numbers - Peter's Program

• Thread starter peterjaybee
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Prime Test
In summary, Peter found that his code didn't seem to work properly and he was unsure as to why. He also found that his code was inefficient and needed to be improved.
peterjaybee
Hi,

I'm new to programming and have written the following code to test for prime-ness, but it doesn't seem to work except for n = 3.

I think it may have something to do with my goto statement. Can anyone see a way of avoiding this or any other errors with the program?

Code:
#include <iostream>
#include<math.h>

using namespace std;

int main() {
	int n, i, is_prime;

//Assume # is prime until proven otherwise

is_prime = true;
	loop:

// get number

cout << "Enter a number and press ENTER (0 to exit): ";
	cin >> n;

if (n == 0) {

return 0;

}

else {

//test for prime-ness.

i=2;

while (i <= sqrt(static_cast<double>(n))) {

if (n%i == 0)

cout << i << " is a factor of " << n << endl;
				is_prime = false;

i++;
		}

if (is_prime)
			cout << "Number is Prime!" << endl;

else 
			cout << "Number is not prime!" << endl;

}

goto loop;
}

Kind regards,

Peter

Technology news on Phys.org
Always use { } with if statements - then hunt down the lecturer/textbook writer that misses them out for single line if statements.

Then as a bonus appreciate the Python indentation rules

What are the python indentation rules

When you do
if ()
... this line
... another line

Which line does the if() statement apply to in c/c++?
In python, it's the indentation that controls the blocks, in c/c++ the indentation means nothing.

Last edited: