Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Probability and time series

1. Feb 25, 2014 #1
    hi

I'm a physician and really need help from somebody who is good at probability. I calculated time series of tidal stresses. It turned out that the probability of having positive tidal stress is 0.45 and negative - 0.55 (I counted up number of hours when the stress was positive/negative and divided by the total number of hours). Usually you would expect to have 0.5 for positive stress and 0.5 for negative. So now, if we assume that an earthquake occurs at random, does it mean that there is 0.45 chance that it happens when the stress is positive? if yes, what is the probability that this earthquake occurs within some one particular hour when the stress is positive (e.g. within one hour centred on a max tidal stress)? Is it also 0.45?

I'd be really grateful if somebody can help me with it. Thanks a lot

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 25, 2014 #2

Stephen Tashi

Science Advisor

The meaning of that question isn't clear. I suggest you give an example of your question using a table of data or a graph.

4. Feb 25, 2014 #3
    thanks for your replay. please have a look at the image file i attached. you can see that for 4 h the tidal stress was positive and for 6h negative. So the probability of an earthquake happening when the stress was positive was 0.4 and when the stress was negative - 0.6. does it mean that the probability of the earthquake randomly happened at the exact tidal maximum (red on a pic) is 0.4 and tidal min - 0.6)?

Attached Files:

5. Feb 25, 2014 #4

Stephen Tashi

Science Advisor

The probability of an earthquake happening exactly at hour 2 is 1/10 if the hour is selected with equal probability from the hours 1,2...10.

If you analyze this to introduce the conditions of positive and negative stress, you get the same answer.