Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Probably an easy answer

1. Jun 3, 2013 #1
    I'm only a first year calculus student so I don't feel too bad asking this probably really dumb question. I noticed in my textbook that the definition of a differential equation was an equation involving the derivatives of a function. Soooo wouldn't that mean that any equation where you can calculate an antiderivative is a differential equation? I don't know if there are any non differentiable equations but if there is not then cant every equation be considered a differential equation? I know differential equations are very important so time is required for me to learn about them and their importance. This is just a curious question I have now. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 3, 2013 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Solving a DE is not normally thought of as finding the antiderivative of it.

Consider the equation: y'' + ay' + by = c
    What would you understand by "calculate an antiderivative of" that equation?

Also, you can calculate the antiderivative of many equations that are not differential equations.
    eg.

find the antiderivative of y=x^2+ax+b

This is not an differential equations because it does not contain derivatives.

4. Jun 3, 2013 #3

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Yes, finding an anti-derivative of, say, f(x) is precisely solving the differential equation dy/dx= f(x).

That would be the very simplest kind of differential equation and is given little time in texts on differential equations (since you would have learned them in Calculus).

(I almost agree with Simon Bridge although I am a little uncomfortable with his repeated reference to find anti-derivatives of equations rather than functions.)

5. Jun 3, 2013 #4

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member