Untrained Physicist Seeking Feedback on Written Theory - Tips and Advice"

In summary, if you have a theory but can't express it in equations, you may need to find a way to get someone trained in physics to look at it. It may be possible to illustrate the concept without equations and a formal education, but you would have to find very simple yet powerful examples.
Kratz
Hello everyone.

How does one get a theory "out"? Let's say I have theory, but I'm not a trained physicist. I can't write out my theory as a mathematical equation. I can simply put it in words. How can I get someone trained in physics to look at it and tell me whether I'm smoking crack, simply delusional, or possibly onto something?

I'm completely new to this, and have no idea what one should do to get someone to look at a simple written theory.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
If it can be written clearly in one or two pages, a professor at a local university would probably be willing to look it over. Or you could post it here- on the "Independent Reasarch" forum.

If your theory has no equations, chances are(almost positively) it is more of a philosophy paper than a physics paper. If you are genuinely interested in this stuff, I suggest you educate yourself over the course of a couple of years, or go to university.

I'm not saying your theory is wrong, just that it won't be taken seriously if there is no math behind it.

Science requires proof, that's what makes it beautiful :).

it would be possible to illustrate the concept without equations and a formal education, but you would have to find very simple yet powerful examples, like the relativity example of the I-beam flying by a moving observer and an observer staying still.

if you were to write a good paper outlining your theory and sent it to a professor who could help you with the finer details, i think that would work

yeah but things like the I beam example in SR come after the basic theory is created,