Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Problems with mathematica code

1. May 8, 2013 #1
    Hello!

I'm writing a paper where I'm going to use markov models to evalute a device. My base for this paper is the paper written by H. Timbley. I have never used Mathematica before and thought that I would start by trying the complete code that Timbley has written in the appendix of the paper. The code is:

DiscreteMath`Combinatorica`;
    IndexOf[vector , e ] := Position[vector, e][[1, 1]];

device =
    {{"Clock", "Clock", "Clock", "Clock", "Clock", "Clock"},
    {"Quick Defrost", "Quick Defrost", "Quick Defrost",
    "Quick Defrost", "Quick Defrost", "Quick Defrost"},
    {"Timer1", "Timer1", "Timer2", "Timer1", "Timer2", "Timer1"},
    {"Clock", "Clock", "Clock", "Clock", "Clock", "Clock"},
    {"Clock", "Quick Defrost", "Power1",
    "Power2", "Power1", "Power2"}
    };

buttonNames = {"Clock", "Quick Defrost", "Time", "Clear", "Power"};
    stateNames = {"Clock", "Quick Defrost", "Timer1", "Timer2", "Power1",
    "Power2"};

numberOfStates = Length@stateNames;
    numberOfButtons = Length@buttonNames;

start = IndexOf[stateNames, "Power1"];
    goal = IndexOf[stateNames, "Power2"];

Until then the code work just fine, but when I type in the next section described in the appendix (see below), some error codes pop up.

Do[randomUser[[i, IndexOf[stateNames, device[[b, i]]]]] +=
    1/numberOfButtons, {b, numberOfButtons}, {i, numberOfStates}];

Error codes:
    Part::partw: Part 1 of {} does not exist. >>
    Part::pspec: Part specification {}[[1,1]] is neither a machine-sized integer nor a list of machine-sized integers. >>
    Part::partw: Part 1 of {} does not exist. >>
    Set::pspec: Part specification {}[[1,1]] is neither a machine-sized integer nor a list of machine-sized integers. >>